Alaska Airlines, Inc. Contract of Carriage

Revised January 19, 2021


Domestic Carriage and/or International Carriage of Passengers and Baggage provided by Alaska Airlines, Inc. ("Alaska"), as well as by other Carriers operating flights on behalf of Alaska under a capacity purchase or other agreement, including, but not limited to, our regional partners Horizon Air Industries, Inc. ("Horizon"), and SkyWest Airlines, Inc. ("SkyWest"), are subject to the terms and conditions of this Contract of Carriage, in addition to any terms and conditions printed on or in any Ticket or e-Ticket receipt. In addition, Alaska may sell tickets operated by one or more of our Codeshare Partners, and such tickets would also be subject to this Contract of Carriage except as stated herein. By purchasing a Ticket or accepting Domestic Carriage or International Carriage on Alaska and/or Alaska’s regional partners or Codeshare Partners, the Passenger agrees to be bound by all of the terms and conditions of this Contract of Carriage, and no covenants at law or in equity shall be implied or incorporated. This Contract of Carriage is subject to applicable laws, regulations and rules imposed by U.S. and foreign governmental agencies. In the event of a conflict between the terms of this Contract of Carriage and such applicable laws, regulations or rules, the latter shall apply.

Rule 13. Acceptance of Children

  1. Unaccompanied Minors: Alaska considers children ages 12 and under who are traveling without a parent, guardian, or other responsible Adult age 18 or older to be Unaccompanied Minors and subject to the policies described below. Children ages 13 years old through 17 years old are not subject to the policies and fees applicable to Unaccompanied Minors when traveling on Alaska unless they are connecting to another Carrier that uses different age thresholds to define Unaccompanied Minors. When two or more Unaccompanied Minors are traveling together, the most restrictive age requirement will apply.
    1. Children under the age of five (5) years will not be accepted under any conditions without an accompanying Adult Passenger on the same flight and in the same class of service. Alaska does not accept Infants in incubation.
    2. Children ages five (5), six (6), or seven (7) years old may travel as Unaccompanied Minors on Alaska (including flights operated by our regional carriers), but cannot be booked on flights involving transfers or Connections.
    3. Children ages eight (8) years old through twelve (12) years old may travel as Unaccompanied Minors on Alaska and may be booked on flights involving transfers or Connection only to Alaska (including flights operated by our regional partners), provided the Unaccompanied Minor holds a confirmed Ticket to a point where he/she is to be met by their parent or responsible Adult upon deplaning.
    4. Alaska Airlines reserves the right to limit the number of Unaccompanied Minors that may be transported on a Segment, whether for safety or administrative or other reasons.
  2. Alaska offers Unaccompanied Minors the escorted services described below. Such escorted service is mandatory for Unaccompanied Minors ages five (5) to twelve (12) years of age and is optional for Unaccompanied Minors ages thirteen (13) to seventeen (17) years of age. Unaccompanied Minors must be brought to the departure airport by their parent, legal guardian or responsible Adult who must remain with their Unaccompanied Minor in the boarding area until the Unaccompanied Minor's flight has departed and is airborne and who must furnish Alaska with satisfactory evidence that the Unaccompanied Minor will be met by another parent or responsible Adult upon deplaning at his/her final destination. If the Unaccompanied Minor's itinerary involves a connecting flight, he/she must not be booked on the last connecting flight of the day to the destination, or a connecting flight departing between 2100 and 0500, unless it is the only flight of the day. The Unaccompanied Minor will not be accepted for transport if any flight on which the Unaccompanied Minor holds a reservation is expected to terminate short of or by-pass his/her destination or Connection point. Alaska reserves the right to require and charge the applicable service charge for Unaccompanied Minor service when an Unaccompanied Minor ages five (5) to twelve (12) years is traveling with a Passenger who is not at least eighteen (18) years old or parent or legal guardian.
  3. Assisted Transfers
    1. On-line Transfers: Alaska personnel will assist Unaccompanied Minors in connecting to/from other Alaska flights, including flights operated by regional partners, provided the scheduled period between ticketed flights is two hours or less. If the scheduled period between ticketed flights is more than two hours, the parent or legal guardian must pre-arrange to have the Unaccompanied Minor transferred by a responsible Adult.
    2. Interline Transfer: Alaska will not transfer Unaccompanied Minors to/from flights on other Carriers, except for flights operated by our regional partners. The parent or legal guardian must pre-arrange to have the Unaccompanied Minor transferred by a responsible Adult for all other Carrier Connections.
  4. A Guardian Contact Form provided by Alaska must be completed and signed by the parent or legal guardian of a Unaccompanied Minor under the age of 13, and must include the following information:
    1. The name and phone number of the Adult who brings the Unaccompanied Minor to the origin airport; and
    2. The name and phone number of the Adult who will meet the Unaccompanied Minor at each Stopover point and at the destination point. Note 1: Alaska has the right, but is not obligated, to require the parent, legal guardian, or responsible Adult meeting the Unaccompanied Minor at his/her transfer point or final destination to present valid government-issued photo identification and sign a release form designated by Alaska. Note 2: Alaska does not assume any financial or guardianship responsibilities for Unaccompanied Minors.
  5. Infants' Fares and Unaccompanied Minor Service Fees.
    1. One Infant not occupying a seat may travel with a parent, or an Adult fare-paying Passenger who is at least 18 years old on Alaska and/or its regional partners. Taxes and airport fees of up to USD/CAD 75 may apply for international carriage. Note: This Rule applies to fare only and not to any other special charges. Each additional Infant accompanied by the same Passenger who is traveling with the first Infant will be charged the same fare as the fare for an Adult Passenger traveling in the same class of service. Infants for whom a seat at the applicable Adult fare has not been purchased may not occupy a seat. Our Codeshare Partners may have their own rules, fares and service fees applicable to Infant travel.
    2. Unaccompanied Minors.
      1. Service fees for Unaccompanied Minors for air transportation (a) operated by Alaska and/or its regional partners within the U.S. or between the U.S. and points outside Canada and (b) operated by Codeshare Partners may be found on our web site at www.alaskaair.com.
      2. Fees for air transportation operated by Alaska and/or its regional partners between the U.S. and Canada. Children age 2-12 years old, whether accompanied or unaccompanied, are required to purchase a Ticket and will be charged the same fare as for an Adult Passenger in the same class of service. Such children are required to occupy a seat and use a separate seat belt. Infants reaching their second birthday after outbound flights will be required to purchase a Ticket and occupy a seat for continuing/return flights only.

        Ages

        Unaccompanied Minor Service

        Fees

        Flight Restrictions

        Gate Escort & Guardian Contacts

        5-7

        Required

        $50 USD/CAD each way per child non-stop/direct flights

        No departures between 9 pm and 5 am. No connections.

        Required

        8-12

        Required

        $50 USD/CAD each way per child non-stop/direct flights

        $75 USD//CAD each way per child for connecting flights.

        No departures between 9 pm and 5 am.

        Required

        13-17

        Optional

        $50 USD/CAD each way per child non-stop/direct flights;

        $75 USD//CAD each way per child for connecting flights if service is requested.

        No departures between 9 pm and 5 am.

        Required when using the Unaccompanied Minor Service

      3. Unaccompanied Minor Service fees are waived for children who have attained MVP®, MVP® Gold, or Gold 75K Mileage Plan™ status. Escorted service fees for Unaccompanied Minors are subject to change at Alaska's discretion. The fare for Unaccompanied Minors ages five (5) to seventeen (17) includes the applicable Adult fare in addition to the escorted service fee assessed.
      4. For the purpose of this Rule, escorted services means that Alaska will provide reasonable supervision for the Unaccompanied Minor from the time of boarding until the Unaccompanied Minor is met at the Stopover point or final destination.
      5. Proof of Infant's, Child's, or Minor's age may be requested at time of purchase, check in, and/or boarding. Either government-issued photo identification or another identification document acceptable to Alaska bearing the birth date of the Infant, Child, or Minor who is traveling on a fare must be presented to Alaska.
      6. The age limits referred to in this Rule shall be those in effect on the date of commencement of Carriage.
      7. Children unable to sit upright with a seat belt fastened must be carried in an approved Infant/Child restraint device, except for Infants not occupying a seat as provided for in section E.1 of this Rule.
      8. Unless unoccupied seats are available on a flight, Alaska requires a reservation and purchase of a Ticket for Carriage of a child restraint device onboard the aircraft to ensure that a child restraint device may be used during flight. Only federally-approved child restraint devices are permitted for use aboard Alaska's aircraft and must be clearly marked with the original NHTSA label. Federal regulations prohibit the use of child booster seats and harness-or-vest-type restraining devices, unless such devices have been specifically approved by the FAA. Child restraint devices must be used in unoccupied aircraft seats and cannot be held in an Adult's lap or used in an emergency exit row. Such devices must remain properly secured to an aircraft seat at all times unless stored as Carry-On Baggage. Child restraint devices will be considered as items of Carry-On Baggage counting toward the Adult Passenger's Carry-On Baggage allowance, unless the Child has been ticketed and a seat reserved for use of the child restraint device.